Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine said Thursday that the state would end its participation in federal unemployment programs June 26.

Justin Merriman | Getty Images News | Getty Images

So, what’s going on?

At least 16 states have elected to opt out of federal programs paying unemployment benefits.

As of Thursday, they include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Wyoming.

All are led by Republican governors. Montana was the first state to announce its withdrawal, on May 4.

How soon is this happening?

The American Rescue Plan made these federal programs available until Labor Day, on Sept. 6.

States are ending their participation around two or more months early — anywhere from June 12 to July 10. (It varies by state.)

How many people are affected?

The governors’ decisions would reduce or cut off benefits for nearly 2 million people.

Around $11 billion of total…

Read more…